West Jakarta as seen from (former) 6F office

West Jakarta as seen from (former) 6F office

When I browsed my phone, I found some old pictures when I was still working in Jakarta. I think it’ll be a waste if I don’t share them here since (in my opinion) Jakarta’s sky was beautiful. I mean, look at that picture! It’s rare for me to see a clear sky without cloud in my hometown, Bandung. Bandung is located in higher altitude than Jakarta, surrounded by mountains, so we only had uniform sky. Seeing white sky everyday sure makes you bored.

If you live in Jakarta, try looking up to the sky. Sometimes you’ll find beauty you have least expected.

Jakarta's clear sky one afternoon

Jakarta’s clear sky one afternoon

West Jakarta's Clear Sky

West Jakarta’s Clear Sky. Is it Wisma Barito?

It reminds me, I haven’t written anything about Jakarta and the train. I saw my blog’s views increase exponentially since Eid because that “Losing Yer Train Booking Number? Don’t Panic!” post (looks like there are at least 20 Indonesians lose their booking number everyday and try to google how to get those back lmao). Now let me tell you some about Jakarta train station: Gambir.

Sadly, I forgot to snap some picture of Gambir Station (partially because I was – always – almost late. Don’t be like me).

Gambir is the largest station in Jakarta (although nowhere as big as Umeda), located near Indonesian National Monument in Central Jakarta, adjacent to few government offices and police station. Just like all other train stations, there are many restaurants and convenience stores inside. From South Entrance, you’ll see the train gate and some machines that will print your ticket once you input your booking number.

If it is your first time in Gambir, worry not. There are many porters wandering around here and there offering services and some securities in uniform. You can ask them how to print out your train ticket, and they will gladly show you how. If you haven’t booked, you can just ask them. Hopefully they will show you to the locket or information center. After getting the ticket, you can go inside the gate to board the train (only one hour before departure). Don’t forget to show your identity card (or passport) to the staffs before entering the gate – the ID and the name in the ticket should match or it’s invalid. I think the procedure is pretty much like in the airport. Behind the gate, you’ll see another shops and convenience stores and stairs. Check your destination and take the right stair, because another will lead you to other train to different cities. If you don’t know where, ask the security again. Most of them located near the stairs and will always be there to guide. If you’re still hesitant, once the train stops, there will be stewardess checking your ticket before you board the train. These stewardesses don’t always show up, though, since the schedule is often tight and people are rushing in and out. There will be announcement in both Indonesian and English once you board the train, including the name of machinist, stewards, and the stops. I’m sure you won’t have hard time being there.

I personally think most of Indonesians boarding the train are friendly. I remember one time I chatted leisurely with an uncle from Jakarta wanting to visit his daughter in Bandung. We end up talking about delicacies and how he went to Bogor by train just for local noodle, it was a fun ride. Plus point: Jakarta-Bandung’s by train has really beautiful view because we’ll see farms, mountains, and you can experience crossing Dutch bridge built 300 years ago and getting inside a very dark tunnel without any light for a minute.

