There is “no such thing like small miracle”, they said, and for me, it is kind of true.
But it is still considered “small”… at least, no press coverage or whatsoever.
Gather ’round, people, let me tell you my story – a real miracle.

Once upon a time,
When I was first grade student in senior high school, there was a swimming PE every Monday. I remember there were two PE teachers, one of them was “killer” type. In our first meeting, he told class we had freestyle practice and so we did. Then, in second half of class, he said we need to swim diagonally with freestyle or we won’t be considered absent.

The horrifying part is, I couldn’t swim.And back then (until now), I was a reckless brat.
so I swam (read: drowned).

It was the worst, my feet suddenly cramped and then I realized the swimming pool was quite deep – I couldn’t touch the floor at all. The gravity pulled me in and I was like a cat inside large bathtub – if it was the most fitting metaphor to someone drowned in 2m pool. I remember I saw the rest of students had finished swimming (because they could swim and they finished faster than me, obviously) and went to the teacher to write down their names in report card. I didn’t remember anyone was present inside the pool beside of myself. It was just like a horror story.

When I felt really tired, I told myself “Lord, I’m tired”. I gave up and stopped struggling. Then the miracle came. Suddenly I moved my hands under water and swam to shallow water, without realizing it. I didn’t think of anything that time. I’d given up already. So I appeared to be alive, not tired anymore and alive, standing beside the pool and looked very dumb. I asked my friend why she didn’t hear me screaming when I was drowning, she looked shocked. She thought everyone had already went out from the water and she definitely didn’t hear my cry.

That was a small miracle which kept me away from doubting God’s presence until now.
Whenever I felt I am doubting Him, I will remember this experience.

Humans are doubtful creatures. They often drift away from their ideology and belief if something looks more interesting, such as works/ business/ and so on. I think it is important to keep these small-miracle memories fresh inside us. In my case, it’s just a drowning experience (definitely not a murder attempt or fall from 7th floor) but from that nasty experience alone I come to understand the meaning of miracle. Miracle is something that you can cling to. It happens and a fact. It defies logic, but still a fact. When you question its validity (because it is absurd), you immediately recall that it is your experience. It’s like doubting gravity’s existence and you see an apple fell from the tree. When doubt comes… when you suddenly question His existence, try to remember all good things – or “small miracles” – that He had done in your life. Cling into it.

