I don't even know what is this

I don’t even know what kind of flower is this

Two days ago when I were jogging in Tegallega park, something white fell from the tall tree… and guess what! It has unusual appearance, five petals (…and the petals are surprisingly quite heavy) and long-hair-like stamens. I haven’t seen this flower often, so I took it home.  After that I observed there are some flowers blooming in the garden and I took some photographs of them.

random flower 2-2

random flower 2

random flower 3I’m more interested in taking photographs of flowers and trees rather than clouds, but I don’t have many flowers at home (the last banyan bonsai tree my uncle bought for me has become a midget). As usual and never bored of it yet until unusable, Nokia N8 camera is my best friend. Not a part of special promotion for Nokia, though (since it is all I have). Don’t be deceived by the background. I took it near my house’s “selokan” (small house-sewer) and garage. I wandered a bit farther and sneaked to neighbour’s garden. Here are flowers I found, especially orchids.

Another neighbour's orchid. I think it'll be much cuter if the purple has more flowers, they look lonely

Another neighbour’s orchid. I think it’ll be much cuter if the purple has more flowers, they look lonely

neighbour's orchid part 2. This is my favorite

neighbour’s orchid part 2. This is my favorite

neighbour's beautiful orchid. Its pale color gives warm feeling

neighbour’s beautiful orchid. Its pale color gives warm feeling

ants are everywhere around this flower

ants are everywhere around this flower

Azalea, my mom's favorite

Azalea, my mom’s favorite

I don’t know why my Mom loves Azalea all of sudden[?], I prefer orchids better though. My favorite flowers are those (I-always-forget-that-tree’s-name…) yellow flowers bloom in my campus and wijayakusumah (fishbone cactus). I don’t like that name in English, though, since in Indonesia, “wijayakusumah” means “flowers of victory / prosperity”. There seem to be two kind of species, Epiphyllum anguliger (the fishbone cactus) or Epiphyllum oxypetalum (Dutchman’s Pipe / Queen of The Night), though, both of them are called wijayakusumah in Indonesia. And recently I read “Putera Pandawa” (Sons of Pandawa) and discovered that in ‘pewayangan’ (Indonesian puppet-play and Indo-India mythology), Wijayakusumah is used by Prabu Kresna to resurrect Dipati Arjuna back from dead (after being slapped by Raden Gatot Kaca).

May be I should start wandering off aimlessly again in campus and take some flower photography…

