Lines of (children) novels in my church's library

Lines of (children) novels in my church’s library

I didn’t call myself a bookworm since I read only books that caught my interest and rarely do some proper reading – but my friends always saw me as one for I didn’t know why reason. In my high school years, I mostly read novels and some strange encyclopedias, sometimes Brittanica and sometimes World Book, in school and church library. In school library, there were a large collection of Indonesian or translated novels from Agatha Christie, John Grisham, and penguin classics; meanwhile in church’s library the collections were wider. Mostly in Mandarin and English about theology, but there was also encyclopedia on history and mythology, science, and technology, children novels and classic literatures, and old books. I seldom read things related to lessons or religion there, though.

For me, library is heaven. The smell of the books are great, and those stack of papers are more precious and thousand-fold better than e-books you read in your tablet or computer. Perhaps it was because I am an 1990 person – I can imagine children nowadays think the books-with-papers are sucks and e-book is much better because it’s not heavy, environmental friendly, and you can buy it via internet, and so on and so on. It’s true, but I still think printed-books are far more valuable than electronics ones: because they are documents which can be – sometime later – a historical proof. I will answer the question with “book smells great” either way, whatever their arguments be.

Say, I think there’s a huge relation between man’s behavior with the book/ things he often reads. Something like, an engineering student who reads things related to engineering and technology are (often) logical and develop problem-solving mind rather than the one who only copies his friend’s homework. The ones who read newspaper are more critical than who don’t, and so on. I still don’t search for the correlation or the specific study about this kind of topic (I do really hope someone in university perform this interesting study and send the data to me heheh) but I clearly remembered Hercule Poirot told (readers) people that he could see the person’s personality and psychological state by the book she read. I let you guys read my personality by looking at my favorite novel and book titles (other than obviously engineering textbooks and Holy Bible):

classics. And look those yellow pages, they smell great.

classics. And look those yellow pages, they smell great.

Since I don’t have money to buy penguin classics, I borrowed most of them from church’s library.

  1. J.R.R. Tolkien : Lord of The Ring trilogy and The Hobbit (livelong writing idol)
  2. C.S. Lewis : Chronicle of Narnia and Screwtape Letters (Tolkien’s friend in Oxford and a really dedicated man of faith)
  3. Victor Hugo : Hunchback Notre Dame (this is really classics, not the Disney one, though)
  4. Charles Dickens : Christmas Carol and The Tale of Two Cities (I admire his stories and my favorite is Tale of Two Cities)
  5. Sir Walter Scott : Ivanhoe (I also read middle-age, crusade, and European history encyclopedia too)
  6. Frank E. Peretti : This Present Darkness (I finally have printed one of my own)
  7. Mh. Rusli : Sitti Nurbaya Kasih Tak Sampai
  8. Y.B. Mangunwijaya : Burun-Burung Manyar
  9. Chairil Anwar : Aku Ini Si Binatang Jalang (some of the poem, but I admire Chairil Anwar from Angkatan 45)
  10. Kahlil Gibran : Sayap-Sayap Patah
  11. Enid Blyton, Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, Alfred Hitchcock novels (I am surprised I read them in my childhood)
  12. BEN-HUR Tale of Christ (and I didn’t see this printed-one ever again)
  13. William Shakespeare plays : HAMLET Prince of Denmark, Romeo and Juliet, Merchant of Venice (guess who!)
  14. Chicken Soup of The Soul (and some its variants)
  15. Josephus : The Jewish War (yes, I read some of it from church’s library since it’s really thick and can’t be borrowed home)
  16. Sam Kok / Three Kingdom (my father owns it with 3 different languages, I’m glad I’m one of its fans)
  17. Sun Tzu : Art of War (I really did read this book as my preparation to jump to the outer world)
  18. Sui Hu Zhuan / Water Margin (and classical movie series too)
  19. Red Pavillion (insanely tragic)
  20. Agatha Christie : And Then There Were None, and Murder in Mesopotamia (I read another book, but so far, they are two books of Agatha Christie I’ve remembered. The latter was bought last week)
  21. Song of Roland
  22. Dante Allighieri : Divina Commedia / The Divine Comedy (I read Inferno)
  23. PK Ojong : Pacific War (the book I wanted the most but never been published ever again eargh)

Those are 22 books I recalled almost immediately in my mind, I perhaps forgot some of the titles but remembered the story (like, Dr. Jeckyl and Mr. Hyde, Phantom of Opera). Well? What’s your verdict to me? You might see things people normally write but none in my list: Harry Potter series, Hunger Games series, Twilight Saga, and some of new titles on your shelves. I haven’t read the rest, but I did read Harry Potter. Until Goblet of Fire, and after that, I didn’t really like it. Indonesian novelist like Dee and Mira W are also my favorites, but well romantism isn’t my genre at all. I’m not really fond of Sherlock Holmes. And I don’t like dramas like Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code or Angels and Demons since I didn’t see any artistic feature or storytelling on them but creating a war and hatred to certain religion and belief. And those sex scenes and unecessary gore thingies, my God, are illogical. I guess I would have to say they are better as Hollywood’s script, not as a literature.

I guess I’m into classics and heavy stories. I’ll call myself (self-proclaimed) classics, realistic, critical, curious, nationalist, and……..sadistic–no. I wonder what will Poirot says. What about yours?

