Jogjakarta International Conference on Physics – Seminary Resume
Note : I guess it won’t hurt if I share small portion of the seminary, since I don’t have right to post full resume of the topic. I will skip the first topic about RIKEN muon facility by Mr. Isao Watanabe because I don’t understand any of it. Since my background is applied physics (even though I do research about nanomaterial), I only manage to grasp two of all topics, that is about Laser and Control.

Laser Based Gas Detection for Environmental Sensing (Prof. Frans J.M. Harren, Netherland)

Here we’re talking about quantum-cascade laser and photoacoustics. For brief information, photoacoustics is “generation of acoustics wave as a consequence of light absorption and is effective in infrared spectrum”.The instrument itself is consisted of lamp (or light source), chopper, and microphone – resonator. It can be used for various gas measurement devices such as airborne measurement (ozone chemistry), ethylene gas sensor for industrial plant, car exhaust, or biomass, and so on. The method can also be used to detect ammonia and explosives, atmospheric measurement, NO detoxification in the environment, and human’s breath by measuring exhale gas from human body. I’m very interested in breath analysis, but the plenary talk said it is still an ongoing research.

Flight Insect Control (Prof. Hirotaka Sato, Nanyang Singapore)

I think it is the most interesting (for me) topic in the seminary, perhaps because I was in Intelligence Control and Automation laboratory before changing research subject. The research is based on tiniest (robotic) insect, which Harvard and Delft participate. But looks like Nanyang has different point of view: the robots still need landing path and it’s not close to insect which fly and land immediately and softly. So the research group initiates creative approach that is by using real and live beetle which is stimulated by a tiny controlling device. The reasons why beetle is chosen are they are friendly, strong flyer, variety in size, long life span, easy to breed, harmless, hard shell, and big payload capacity. The gadget (cyber bio interface) is succesfully implemented and makes the beetle fly by user’s input. Should I put term “remote-controller-insect” here? My friends and I argued lots about the use of the beetle.

There raises question about “animal-right”, like animal lovers would surely ask. The professor mentions that he and his colleagues are raising the beetles well and they still keep the beetles even after the experiment. Perhaps the most important thing is not about “animal-right”, if I may comment, it is about “humans-right”. If government supports this kind of research for military use, you know what I mean. Perhaps robotic insects can gain people’s attention but live beetles are not (I mean, immediate swat and kill them like you kill a mosquito once you know it is some kind of spying device…). Fortunatelly mounting a camera into it hasn’t been experimented yet. Or government still takes no interest in it yet, who knows.

I still suggest cockroach. No one will have problem with that creature and no one will comment about “animal-right” whatsoever… and even though human experienced doomsday, cockroach will still live… kidding 😀

