Jogjakarta International Conference on Physics 2012, as the name states, is a conference on physics held in Jogjakarta, Indonesia. It is the third jipc, and my first conference as a presenter. Six students from CMD-QE laboratory Engineering Physics, Bandung Institute of Technology, are listed as presenter: three graduate students and three undergraduate students and one audience. We undergraduate students present our thesis and thanks God we manage to finish both the paper and the thesis report, colloquium and such, on time (barely). After preparing our thesis, research, preparing our English and two times a week presentations, we finally come to Jogjakarta.

in front of FMIPA, this grand building stands. As usual, only Nokia N8 camera

This is my third time visiting this beautiful city, but my first time riding a train. Right after our colloquium in the morning, we rushed to train station and arrived at 3 AM (with the opening ceremony at 7 AM ha!). The opening ceremony was simple and short, then continued with the plenary talks from RIKEN, Dr. Isao Watanabe… forgive me, Watanabe-sensei, I don’t really understand about particle physics oTL; The second was Dr. Frans J.M. Harren from Radboud, Netherland. After coffee break, we had Dr. Hirotaka Sato and Dr. Kamsul Abraha from UGM. Once again, forgive me Dr. Kamsul, I don’t really understand mathematical formulae of plasmonic oTL; After plenary talks, we were separated into parallel sessions. Because I got the second day, I was free to choose whatever session. After the session for day one finished, we prepared ourselves to go back to hotel but all taxis were booked, no public transport (such as angkot in Bandung) around, and we were at lost. If we took ride or becak, it would be wasteful, so we decided to walk. Two kilometers from FMIPA UGM to Wisma MMUGM with 2 kilos ransel — took shortcut to main campus with the help of mini map, and turned around the main road. Jogjakarta was beautiful indeed – the sidewalk was preserved and wide, the road was not bumpy, not packed with cars, no smoke smells, and the sky was blue. Unlike a certain city in West Java… We got energy left, so after taking a bath and watching Narnia, we went to have some dinner in Malioboro. First thought we wanted to roam around – I mean, adventure time – but because it was farther than expected, we finally gave up and called a taxi. Malioboro was brighter and neater than five years ago I came into this city with school. But because we arrived almost too late, at 9PM, many shops closed already. I only bought a batik cellphone wallet, though I wanted maany many batik accessories. To my surprise, there were many Madura people there, I felt  bad having gossipped about them 😦 well, I don’t regret telling people the dirtiness of my hometown though.

Second day started at 9 AM, and we went for the rest of the sessions: Dr. Nurul Taufiqurrahman from LIPI Indonesia and Mohsen M. Abd-Elmeguid from Germany – closed by Dr. Isao Watanabe introducing RIKEN and Muon Facility. Both of them were advanced and experimental material physics, I didn’t manage to understand what they were saying. I’ll submit the resume later in separate post. After plenary talk session, we separated again to parallel session, in which I presented my works on that – the same annoying – nanocomposite. I called this session “the extra stage” after colloquium (the last stage – if we were in a some sort of a game). We went back to hotel and waited in the lobby while killing time playing cap sa. After Maghrib, we went for dinner, and finally went home by train. Three days in Jogjakarta and all days were fun! I wish Bandung was as beautiful as Jogjakarta, and neat, and clean, and not packed, and…and… and everything. I got my first experience being a presenter in an international conference, though Indonesians who attended my presentation, and had a very good time. I’ll upload the photograph later (I should’ve considered the resolution next time)

See you again, Jogjakarta!

