When I write, I can’t help but to write more… That is my bad habit. That’s aside, I have been keeping a quote for over 4 years already and I think it’s worthy to be shared to you guys lovely readers.

“Think about one thing and ask ‘WHY’. And you’ll know you have reached your knowledge”
– my KWn high school teacher

He then asked the class this simple thing: ‘why does water flows?’. As in physics lessons, the class answered ‘because it has potential (from higher potential / higher level to lower potential / lower level)’. Then he proceed to ask ‘why from higher potential to lower potential?’. The class once again answered ‘gravity’. The teacher asked again ‘why gravity?’. The class looked on each others and some whispered ‘because earth bound to sun… like Coulomb Force?’ they grew quite confused on how to answer the teacher’s question and some had given up when the teacher ask ‘why coulomb force’. Now I think I should answer him with graviton back then and see my teacher’s expression *laughs*

Physics. That is.

I quickly recalled this interesting Q&A session when I saw three articles on HIGGS BOSON on my mail from sciencedirect. This is physics. This is what makes physics interesting. Men grow curiouser and demand answer on those whys. Why? Why? Why? Why?

Humans have to admit they only know bit of true knowledge, not even close to 5%. Curious is the nature that drives them wanting to know more about universe, even though that kind of knowledge don’t serve any good to humanity. Scientists and researchers may be the most curious creatures on earth. They are like children who see outer world and keep asking their parents of why-this-why-that… and enjoy the nature that amazes them.

That is why I start to love physics.

In the mid school until I was fallen to the abyss of engineering physics department, I hated physics. I kept asking why I should study them if they have no good for me or humanity? But now, I have the answer. Internet. Wifi. Laser. Blu-Ray. Microchips. Biosensors. Acoustics. Signal processing. Television. Everything around you, those which invented by humans, and every technology, begin with a mere curiosity. Lamps. Why it has to be wolfram, not helium? Television, why must liquid crystal, can we use LED instead? Papers. Why don’t we use digital ones?

I am truly blessed. After I am here in Computational Material Design and Quantum Engineering Laboratory, I see things that others don’t see. Driven by curiosity alone (*and perhaps recklessness), I took the most annoying research that even DELFT gave up on them: thatannoyingLiMMT-PEO. I’ve undergone 32 fail configurations and 6 months of constant failures for pre-research, on the equilibration alone. The input data is right, there’s nothing wrong ni the sourcecode. I follow papers, consult professors, but I still fail. Why? Why my hypothesis is wrong? What makes it wrong? Nature always surprises me (even in the computation level *laughs*) thosewhys are needed to be answered.

Until now, my curiosity as my fuel, I will still continue on this annoying material until I found the answer. That’s the interesting aspect of physics.

To understand the nature, and see the beauty of it.
Furthermore, to glorify Who made them beautiful like that.

And the nature praises The Lord!

